New Guy Here - Was at the San Diego Show

New Metal Member
Apr 7, 2006
Hey all...like the title says...new guy here. Not a new fan to Nevermore, just to these forums. I'm 34, live in San Diego...I'm a freelance artist and I've done some album/cd covers (most notably for the band Journey). Anyway...I'm mostly just a big fan of quality metal...and actually...lots of other genres interest me, too...but mostly metal.

I've only managed to see Nevermore twice, and each time I've been struck by the question "Why the FUCK are these guys opening for ANYONE?". I guess it's the same question as to why my friends from Psychotic Waltz never made it big in the states. I think they were ahead of their time...and I think maybe Nevermore is a little, too. Anyway, I saw them on the Gigantour in San Diego, and it was fuckin great, but short. I think they got like 3 or maybe 4 songs. Then I was at the San Diego show this last Thursday night, and I've gotta say...this one was intensely better. Warrel just seemed more...well...I dunno...he was ON! His voice was fantastic, and it just seemed like he was more THERE. The whole band kicked ass, and within the short 6 songs they had, they managed to play several of my favorites...and I was shocked. I just about fell over when they played "Born"! I never expected to hear Poison Godmachine live, either! The sound was REALLY good! Kudos to the sound man at the show! Anyway, I think the setlist went something like this...but I suck at setlists...

Final Product
I, Voyager
Poison Godmachine
Dead Heart In A Dead World
Born

...and I think Engines Of Hate was in there, too. Like I said, I usually suck at remembering setlists, cause I get so into the energy of a show...and man did they have it! I know Imissed a song, and I think it was EOH.