New member, and a few concepts to clarify?

rispsira

Mar 18, 2010
Hi everyone,

Dont wanna bore you, but a quick introduction,

My name is Sary, im a guitarist living in Lebanon, play in a prog metal band. We only have a "band space" which is our rehearsal room that we have worked on (proofing and treatment) to work on our music and record (in the same place because of budget restrictions). Now that iam thinking about it even if i wanted to bore you that's about it haha.

I have a bit of trouble understanding something that maybe you could shed some light on:

How long of a delay in signal are we talking about before we have phase cancellation issues? Although i realise that the signal can never be completely aligned because of different wave lengths, i often read about stereo splitting with say a 5-7ms delay for live performances.
This is important to me as i am the only guitarist in the band and it will get me closer to double tracking or well the punch you get from two guitarists playing the same riff, (though the imperfect tuning of the guitar has to do with the thickness as well) at least theoretically since i havent tried it yet. I bought a tc 1210 i might use to try that out. (cannot yet as i am still waiting for some gear to complete my rig)

Why dont you get phase issues when you do that? is it because the delay in time is not enough to create a problem? That is why i am asking how long the signal has to travel compared to a "source" before you get that hollow sound if i can describe it that way. I may not be asking the right questions to understand that stuff; if this is the case please clarify that for me.

I have other questions but ill leave you alone for now haha.

Anyways, thanks to all of you for this wondeful forum. A real gold mine.

Later!
Sary