New to mixing, needs help to get the right software.

VictoriaBlaize

New Metal Member
Mar 4, 2013
Denmark
Hello guys,

Im pretty new to the new world of recording, mixing and mastering. I have been working in some small local studios were i helped record demo's and Ep's for the local bands.

I just finished my own album and i want to record, mix and master it myself. I will need some help to do so.

First i went to use my hard earned money on some equitment that i will need. As for now, i got KRK VXT8 monitors. They sounds good, now i just need to learn how they translate to HIFI systems.
I got a RME Fireface 400 and a Great River N1.
I got it all used and for a good prices but i need a good microphone and some software.
I got Cubase 6 as DAW, i mostly got it because it was what we used in the local studio. Did not want to go out and learn a complete new software, not right now tho.

Okay thats alittle about me, what i really want you guys help to is to get the right software.

I have no awesome drummer, nor the mics or preamps, so i want to program the drums for my album. I have been using EZ Drummer in the studio but it sounds quite bad i think. Then i started searching and atleast 10 different softwares came up.
What are you guys useing for drums? and why are you using it?
What software are you useing to process the drums with? and why?

Im a guitar player so i ofcause have some nice guitars and preamps. Right now the Soldano SLO 100 is my favorite my brother got an Dual Rectifier that i can borrow and a big load of cabinets.
What kind of software do you use to treat the guitar with? and why? ;)

I only got a bas and put it thru the Great River. Im so bad at getting it to sound good. What software are you useing here? why? :D

Vocals, no mic, only the great river. What mic should i get? its both for male and female singing.

I really hope none died reading all my stuff, sorry for the wall of text.

Ill be super happy for some help :)