Opeth Inspired Original Music

Amaran9th

Feb 13, 2008
As a musician, I draw a huge amount of inspiration from Opeth. I would like to share some moments in the Opeth discography that have inspired me musically and how they translated into original tracks. I'd also love to hear what parts moved other musicians to compose Opeth inspired riffs/melodies/passages/songs.

One of my favorite acoustic/vocal passages is in the Leper Affinity (Lost are days of spring), that vocal line is very haunting and the acoustic work underneath is very ominous yet somehow calming. Some acoustic work I've been working on lately has been heavily inspired by that mood, it has different chords but relies on an aggressively alternate picked acoustic passage with a moving bass line.

I'd have to say that the ending to Moonlapse Vertigo and Serenity Painted Death, with they're anthemic vocal outros filled with such power and backed by great harmonies have inspired two of my own compositions. They similarly have interesting chord movements accompanied by a strong vocal line (arrogant prick) that seems to cry out and gives closure to track that seems not to want to end.

These are just a few ideas I've grabbed from Opeth, I'll let others share and see where I should focus my musical attention for more gems of Opeth inspiration. Thanks for reading. :headbang:

As a mediocre-trying-to-learn-but-only-knows-4-chords guitarist, I find myself trying to play acoustically like Opeth. So I guess they influence me that way.

Do you have any samples of your work that you could share?