Opeth: Strings, Chords, Guitars, and Programs.

BrandonS

Apr 5, 2003
I'm pretty sure Opeth uses "Extra-Light" D'arddio strings (size 9).... I use size 9 but my strings are Fatties (brand name)! I decided they must use XL strings. Am I right or what?

And what's the deal with their chords? They're almost impossible to play if you aren't 100% sure what the chord is beforehand...... they might not even be real chords. And then there are the times when they take a chord, and have all kinds of tripped out fingerwork on the chord where they play something awesome.. Did they go to guitar school for 20 years or what? It was my understanding that they were self-taught (I did a 2,500 word report on Opeth for 10th grade)

And what brand bass / electric / acoustics do they use to record with? I want to buy an acoustic and an electric as priority #1.... I just got my first bass within this year, so I'm not HOPPING on that fanbus yet. I still have a lot of fingerwork to learn on that as well, like playing fast notes and not hurting my finger *cries* :( So what kind of acoustics and electric? I know they use a PRS on Lamentations... I have a les paul but it messed up and it weighs like 30 pounds and its too heavy to hold they way it messed up (i cant hold it with the strap.. i had to balance it on my leg) So basically I want to know, what brand instruments does everyone use?

And also I understand Steve Wilson uses a program called "Logic" for his recordings, and Dan Swanö uses "Nuendo".... What is the best program to use for making recordings? I am using Adobe Audition 1.5 now but its pretty gay and it lags sometimes when I'm recording and it uberly makes me sad. :(

I found a guitar that fit perfectly with want I wanted as far as electric guitar, but it was only $472 and I was worried about buying another guitar that had crappy pickups with Static...... I need Anti-static guitars.... It was some weird name like a WRXT Warrior or something.

Frown. :(