Opeth's guitar technique

ConradFord

New Metal Member
Mar 7, 2007
HI, im a huge fan of opeth and i am obsessed with their riffs and soloing. I have tried to learn how to play like them and can play many songs but I want to learn how they play.

My main goal is to be able to improvise using the scales that opeth uses but I dont know what they are. They must be some kind of minor scales but I dont know much about theory or anything. Hopefully someone knows how I can learn to improvise opeth style! :headbang:

why ? if its sounds good and u like it , then go for it.

As a beginning guitarist, I've come to the fact that you won't be able to play exactly like the next person, each and every guitarist is different in so many ways it's unbelievable. Playing LIKE someone is a different story though, and if you can already play a lot of their songs I don't see why you can't make up some awesome riffs yourself while playing around with different settings.

Also starting the guitar has made me realize more than ever how amazing Opeth is, I still can't come to grasp the fluid-like progression that they have in all of their songs. They are truly unparalleled when it comes to amazing music.

Using a certain scale/mode really won't do much. It varies from song to song and sometimes within a song.
If you're a beginner, I wouldn't concern myself much with scales, I'd go for a more "what sounds cool" approach. Come up with some chords that sound cool or possibly just some intervals that you like the sound of.
If it was extremely easy to come up with great music, everybody would be doing it. There are only a few great artists/bands (compared to the number of bands that exist) and there's a reason.

Obviously, the majority of Opeth stuff is in a minor key - usually E or D. In terms of soloing, a lot of Mike's stuff is bluesier / pentatonic based, while Peter tends to sweep arpeggios more.