Quad tracking guitars

ok i admit im the biggest noob here:worship:

but why dont dont you just record 1 take of each amp and duplicate each track then you have 4 tracks two of each amp.

Why do you record 4 seperate takes of the same riff ??

ok i admit im the biggest noob here:worship:

but why dont dont you just record 1 take of each amp and duplicate each track then you have 4 tracks two of each amp.

Why do you record 4 seperate takes of the same riff ??

Because the slight variations in your playing (presuming that you are playing tight!) will cause the fatness in the sound that you don't get by copying the riff.

i thought the variations would be a bad thing :erk:

so you recon never duplicate a track always record individual tracks for a better guitar sound hmmm

i will try this and see what happens but does this apply to very technical metal as well ? because if it does our guitar tracking timeframe just got shot to hell :cry:

Do you usually have 2 of the guitars slightly lower in level or quite a heafty amount lower than the far L/R guitars? *most commonly*

Well, if you play TECHNICAL metal, shouldn't you be technically good enough to play it consistently in the first place? ;)

Otherwise it's just lame-o wannabe-prog-metal ...

thats true i just meant that since each gutarist has to record two takes of all his parts it is now going to take twice as long to track guitars as oposed to just hitting duplicate track.

Ne way i dont think we are to technical its less than between the buried and me but more than killswitch, as i lay dying type stuff.

But there are some realy tricky guitar parts in some sections fucking deceptacons its like you think its going to be easy to record until you sit down to record it and 2 hours later your still trying to nail some bastard string skipping part cleanly:err: