REAPER. Some advice please.

MattGrave

Jun 2, 2012
Hey dudes,

I know a lot of you use Reaper here and everyone Ive read seems very keen on it.

I'm a quite competent Pro Tools user and have a lot of experience editing drums etc. What I'm wondering is how Reaper compares to PT in terms of efficient workflow and ease of use.

If there's any advice you can throw my way I'd appreciate it. Thanks.

If you've been editing drums in PT for a while then here's a vid on reaper to get you started.

[ame="www.youtube.com/watch?v=F3YsWickhRk"]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F3YsWickhRk[/ame]

Look at the guy's channel, it's full of useful tuts to help you get the hang of reaper. A quite powerful DAW if you ask me.

With Reaper the ease of use is almost dependant on you, when you get into customizing it and making your own macro's, button and short-cuts it really comes into it's own, you set it up however YOU want, so you can go crazy setting up purely drum editing short-cuts and whatnot.

I can't go back to Poo Tools even if I wanted to (which I really don't)

I think the thing might be wether the fact you're a competent user of PT is due to the fact you usually work in a PT environment, in different studios etc. You might find that the lack of standardization with Reaper, the fact it evolves constantly, could be a problem for you. The good thing with PT would be that wherever you are, PT is PT. While reaper is a different bird. Otherwise, on a personal level of interest, it can easily give you more IMO.

I think the thing might be wether the fact you're a competent user of PT is due to the fact you usually work in a PT environment, in different studios etc. You might find that the lack of standardization with Reaper, the fact it evolves constantly, could be a problem for you. The good thing with PT would be that wherever you are, PT is PT. While reaper is a different bird. Otherwise, on a personal level of interest, it can easily give you more IMO.