Recording Process Advice (Real Drums)

Bob Gren

New Metal Member
Aug 3, 2012
Hello recording gurus!

Bit of a recording noob here looking for advice :)

I am in the process of recording an album and have just finished tracking drums at home. I have a few questions regarding the order in which to continue and how you guys would approach the situation.

Here's one track, scratch guitars and vocals, no bass and not yet mixed:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/52806001/Ode to the sea 14 07 14.mp3

These are the very raw drums recorded without any performance edits or any processing.

Ideally I'd like to have the drums sounding as natural as possible.

Would you guys edit the drums at all in this situation? I have a hard time imagining a tighter human performance and am reluctant to alter what has been played.

This is my first time working with real drums and my mind still cannot "see" what difference processing drums will make to the overall sound. Is this an acceptable raw sound or will we need lots of sample replacement? The snare sounds good to my ears but the kick is a bit woofy. Will clever EQ fix that?

Finally, do you guys start by getting a good drum sound and then tailor the rest of the tones around it or do you just track everything and then mix together? Should I worry about mixing later and track first or just get each element sounding good as I go?

Any insight appreciated :)