Revalver III clips and Wagner comparison

Fifth_Horseman

Watch out, it's sharp!
Sep 21, 2002
Hamburg, Germany
Visit site
I got the Revalver III demo yesterday and did some comparison clips today between the Revalver JSX, 6505+ and Flathill (Mesa), as well as my standard Wagner sharp settings.

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default.cfm?bandID=827865

It's a 17 second snippet from my band's selfproduced album. Unfortunately we haven't recorded the bass yet. Drums are dry except for kick sample.

Guitars are quad-tracked, ampsims are pure amp modules without any stomp box, no post-processing at all.
Input voltage on Revalver clips is 1.068 Volt.
Impulse for all clips is GuitarHack's JJ BBAE-half (still my favourite impulse).

The incoming lead at the end of the clips is all POD 2.3 which we used for monitoring.

Guitar chain: Jackson Soloist Archtop Pro (Duncan Distortion) -> Countryman Type 85 DI -> Focusrite Saffire

Since I'm a guitarist and not an audio engineer, I don't have any clue about mixing and only little clue about dialing in an ampsim.
Therefore you can take these clips as an example of what the "average Joe" will get out of Revalver III after one day. :loco:

EDIT: Another JSX clip uploaded (EL34Lively)... this one comes close to the Flathill clip soundwise.

I have a question for you. Do you have the saffire pro, and if so do you really need the countryman in front as a D.I. ? Thanks Oh I think the flathill sounds the best

No, it's a standard Saffire.
The instrument inputs do work pretty well but seem to capture more lows and less highs than the Countryman DI.

They are also pretty hot. I can't record bass direct to the instrument inputs because even with the Gain knob at zero it's overloading the input. Of course I can switch the input to line level, but then I think I'm back at the typical level mismatch.