SD2 "plastic" attack issues

Jack Pirate

Apr 30, 2012
Hey Guys,

I've been using Superior Drummer for a few months now and I managed to get some good results, but there's this harsh/plastic attack on snare and kick that is very annoying and I can't find a way to soften it.

I tried to reduce the attack with the envelope option within SD2, but it didn't help much, the plastic attack is still there. I also tried some saturation to make the transient a bit smoother, no luck either. The SPL Transient Designer gives me pretty much the same results as the envelope shaper in SD2, so it's not helping with that issue.

I know it's possible to get a nicer attack from SD2 because many people have done that, so it's definitely my fault that it's not working. Productions such as the first Periphery album and Animals As Leaders have the sort of attack that I'm trying to achieve (especially on snare and kick) and since they used SD2 for the drums, it makes me wonder how they managed to get a smoother attack.

Any ideas?

P.S: I'm not mixing within SD2, I have all mics routed to separate tracks.

Welcome to the reason most of us have switched to Slate VST drums. There probably was some SD2 on the Periphery/AAL albums tucked in somewhere, or at least that's what they were supposed to say publicly, weren't they sponsored by Toontrack? I've read here that they are not the only drum tones on the albums though.

weird i thought that was the case with toms.. i cant for the life of me make em work. but i dont wanna blame anything except my skills haha
btw my friend got jb evil drums and it seems to be really good and takes processing well i wonder why its not mentionned more often (unless i didnt stomp on those threads; didnt do a search about it) but anyway im straying from the topic

Which snare are you using?