Sequencing DFH2 in Cubase?

Coprosatanica

Dec 13, 2005
Hey guys - I was hoping someone could recommend a midi controller for use with triggering Drumkit From Hell 2 inside of Cubase LE. I'm looking at the M Audio Ozone, but I'm completely new to midi sequencing so I'm curious about your opinions on this subject.

I usually just use Beatcraft to lay down basic drum patterns for writing guitar parts, but I just got DFH2 to make an attempt at getting some better sounds that I could actually keep in the recordings. I soon realized there is no way to sequence with it standalone. Do you think getting into midi is the way to go for sequencing with Cubase, or is there a better software program available that allows for stand alone sequencing without using midi?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions...

JB

Im using DFHS, but I have always pencilled stuff into a MIDI track. I have experience with the Ozone controller, but I haven't used it for writing out drums. If I was to use a controller, Id probably buy something that I could actually hit.

Having said that, I don't really have much problem pencilling everything in.

Uh....DFH2 only triggers via MIDI...so you kinda have to use MIDI no matter what...

DFH2 comes with a sampler, Kompakt. You select that as a VST Instrument in Cubase. Then you add a MIDI track to your project. Set the output of that MIDI track to PSP Drumkit From Hell 2. Now, when you program MIDI into the track, it'll trigger DFH2's samples...I'll post screens to help you out.

~006

006 said:
Uh....DFH2 only triggers via MIDI...so you kinda have to use MIDI no matter what...

DFH2 comes with a sampler, Kompakt. You select that as a VST Instrument in Cubase. Then you add a MIDI track to your project. Set the output of that MIDI track to PSP Drumkit From Hell 2. Now, when you program MIDI into the track, it'll trigger DFH2's samples...I'll post screens to help you out.

~006