short story about...

FIXXXER

¯\(°_o)/¯
Feb 18, 2008
Germany
...me how i started playing gutar and how i realized that i suck doing it.

back in 1999 i heard the S&M version of nothing else matters in the radio
for the first time. i really liked the song so i took my fathers guitar and started to pluck a few strings.
i had a lot of fun doing this so it became some sort of hobby for me. in the beginning i was very determinded,
i played several hours the day and it became more and more
"the fist thing to do" for me when i had some free time.

my father showed me a few chords and a few simple scales.
he is a a self-taught guitar player so these few things were
all he could teach me.

he told me to take lessons but i always denied, stubborn as i am.

nevertheless my father bought me an electric guitar becuase
i wanted to play heavier stuff. i learned about tabs and how to
read them and everything was fine. at this time i was still very determined.
i played a lot but i never practised scales and stuff.

over time i became better in gutar playing but
i never managed to play solos or fast and PRECISE rythm picking etc.

so i just played what i was able to :rolleyes:

since that i couldn't notice any progress in my guitar playing.
i guess i was stuck at the beginners level a long time ago...:puke:

today i realized once again that i am really bad at guitar playing
and now i am trying to find the reasons why i am so bad.

i think that the lack of practise is the main
reason why i am a bad guitar player.
i just took a guitar and started playing, that's it.
other peole told me that i am very talented because i
managed to teach myself how to play an instrument.
unfortunately i believed them.

as an autodidact i have surely picked up completely wrong
picking and grip techniques over the years, techniques that may stay forever.

i also focused more and more on recording in the last few years,
so playing guitar became more like a "by the way" thing.