putting this off for too long (shredding content)

TheWinterSnow

Den Mørke Natt
Oct 22, 2008
Sacramento, CA
I have managed to put off practicing for so many years, as a result for playing for 10 years I should be leaps and bounds better than where I am at. Why haven't I gotten very far? Because I am self taught and up to a point its been difficult to find any online lessons and instructional DVD's on advanced rhythm playing and lead playing. Anything you can find on the internet regarding "shredding" is nothing more than chromatic scales and licks that already expect you to have some basics.

So I can't find shit on instructional, so please recommend me something, instructionals, DVD's web sites you name it I would be forever in your debt.

I'm completely self taught and have been playing just under 10 years - it can definitely be done, duder!

The Petrucci DVD and the Paul Gilbert instructional videos are what did the best for me. Also just learning a shit ton of tasty shred songs... Gilbert, Petrucci has his moments, Michael Romeo, Satriani, etc.

I'm completely self taught and have been playing just under 10 years - it can definitely be done, duder!

The Petrucci DVD and the Paul Gilbert instructional videos are what did the best for me. Also just learning a shit ton of tasty shred songs... Gilbert, Petrucci has his moments, Michael Romeo, Satriani, etc.

yeah I know it can be done, I just need the right materials. I have an uncle who is an insane guitar player and he is all self taught. The Petrucci DVD is a little intimidating as he has much more difficult arpeggio and string skipping before going into scales and modes.