Slightly off-topic but not really..... (guitarists)

Bryant

Mr. Sleepy
Apr 14, 2002
Sweet home Alabama
Visit site
This post is about right hand technique:

I have been playing guitar for 20 years and although I don't like to "toot my own horn" I am pretty good. One of the reasons I am a decent guitarist is simply because I have been playing for 20 years. Another reason I think I am a decent guitarist is because I don't constantly worry about what scale or mode I am playing in.
I have seen too many occasions where guitarist progress far on their weak handed technique (left for the right handed guitarist and vice-versa) and completely suck on their strong handed technique. Guys/girls there is a reason right handed people pick with their RIGHT hands and vice-versa. Learning different scales and modes will infinitely increase your prowess as a soloist, but if you do not learn to "phrase" and learn the right-handed techniques even more ambitiously than your fretting techniques, people like David Gilmour and Billy Gibbons will still kick your lefthanded technical asses as a guitaist. I am not picking at anyone here. I am simply stating that developing a right hand technique is just as, if not more important than a left-hand technique. For some serious listening, try Accept's "Metal Heart" and "Russian Roulette" for a guitarist that can do it all.

Bryant

I kind of got screwed over in that area, see, I'm left handed, but when my parents first bought me a guitar, they didn't really know you could get a left-handed one, so I got my right-handed Squier Strat, and its been that way for five years. It never really occured to me that maybe my picking would be a bit more precise if I was using my left hand.. damn. Oh well, but indeed you bring up a good point. Nice topic.

^
did it ever occur to you to flip the strings and body so that you could play it the right way?

Bryant said: