snare flam

MetalSound

Nov 14, 2006
in a snare flam is the first one on the beat and the second hit behind it or is the first hit before the beat and the second one on the beat?

Well it depends on how you want it to be. :) No wrong or right in this. Personally I'd have the first snare hit on the beat.

Well it depends on how you want it to be. :) No wrong or right in this. Personally I'd have the first snare hit on the beat.

I agree with this ^.

Its totally up to you, but, being a drummer myself, it sounds more natural to have the first hit on the beat.

It sounds nicer to kind of sit back on it a bit rather than to have that second hit on the beat. It sorts of jumps the gun.

Yeah I always put the first hit on the beat.
Dunno if it's your case here but when I gotta program drums, I never put this kind of stuff exactly on the beat. I usually put one a little bit before the beat and the second one where it sounds the best. The same rule for the velocities.

In Guitar Pro its before the beat.
(weird, I was thinking of it 2 days ago... :))

and it depends on music style, what you want vs. In jazz some times there is no beat.

I've also had a period messing around with flams and drummers (when listening back) often always "object" to it being first hit on the count because the second hit sounds late-ish.

I've had a Music Grad drummer (that now teaches overseas) tell me that it's 'supposed' to be one hit before the count and one hit after. Which theoretically makes sense because a flam is considered one beat hit twice so the center of the flam needs to be lined up with the grid (again in theory).
In practice I just sway the flam back and forth while listening to the rest of the drum beat and see if the rhythm swings correctly.

Unless of course the flam is an accent at the end of a passage or supposed to be dead on with another musician stopping, then lining it up (aurally) is better.