So how did you guys know when the time was right to charge?

kev

Im guybrush threepwood
Jun 16, 2004
Bristol, United Kingdom
www.myspace.com
hey guys, as the thread title really. How did you all decide when you are actually good enough to do local work and the like, and take on jobs that you were going to be paid for? Im interested in this, as it is the sort of thing i'd hope to be contemplating in several years time- basically how did you make it from the bedroom to your own little building and into taking on work etc!

discuss!

Kev

I got an internship at a local studio and then started telling bands that I was a producer. Someone will believe you sooner or later.

I'm setting up to do powwow drum groups. First session will be free, then I told them that if they like the results and want to do more then it will be like $250 per day, with at least one day (8-10 hours spread over a few days, actually) of mixing.

It's pretty simple since I found out that most of these guys are paying a lot more than that for results that I could easily surpass, even with my lack of pro status.

And, actually, the fact that I am not charging a whole lot is making them nervous :lol:

Yeah, basically when people are willing to pay you. I've had my share of sessions as a student and I've been approached by some bands who want me to do work with them in my own time.

The first band just wants a mixing job done, and I made it clear that I'd need compensation to cover time. Because any half decent mix is going to take a few days.

The second band is one I've worked with in the past, for free, but now they've come back and are planning to do a full album.

Basically I think the paid work should start finding you once your other work preceeds you and people think your abilities are worth financing.