Some help with extreme metal snare?

P-Keisari

New Metal Member
Feb 3, 2016
Finland
Hi guys! I'm kinda newbie here so I'm not quite sure if I'm at the right forum right now. I could really use some help on mixing death metal snare drum. I have this death metal mix thing going on and I can't really get the snare to pop out. The raw sound of the snare is pretty metallic, kind of "ringy" and "clangy", which I like, but my problem is, that if I want the snare to ring I get a whole lot of cymbal bleed, which kind of sucks. The snare is pretty dynamic of course, because no one can blast 280bpm and hit with the same velocity as in the slow 150bpm parts. I have tried gating the snare, but too much gating kills the clang and too less just bleeds too much. Low-passing the snare hushes the cymbals pretty ok, but it doesn't do that much good on the snare itself. It makes the snare sound like someone playing it somewhere far away, instead of in-your-face. Of course, when mixing metal like this, heavy compression on pretty much everything is quite usual, but as you can imagine, it digs out the bleed even more. So there's my problem. I can upload some samples for you later today.

Thank you for your reply! That is a really nice snare! The sound I'm looking for is not that damped though. I'm trying to achieve something more clangy and sustained. I would still appreciate it very much if you could tell me how you made your sound, because I think the attack is great. The sound is really clean and professional.

There's all sorts of parallel processing stuff you could do to maybe get the result you're looking for. Clips would be nice, so a better diagnose could be made :lol:

PS. Morjens :kickass:

Last edited:
The only clip I had available on my work PC right now was this one. This one has all the tracks (except vocals) though, but the drums (especially snare) are pretty loud on the mix, so maybe you can get the idea. Nothing is processed here, except that the bass drum is triggered.