Speakers for downtuned (extreme) metal

m3adi3c

New Metal Member
Jul 13, 2012
Hi, glad to have found you!

I am a bedroom guitarist and I mainly play downtuned (extreme) metal. I have a 7 string guitar (Ibanez Apex II) which I usually tune at least a full step down and play with much distortion (Cannibal Corpse, Slayer, Paradise Lost...).

I want to sell my crappy amp and run my effects processor into either an active speaker (or a pair of) or a pair of studio monitors. Moreover, whatever I buy, I will also be using it for listening to music, since I don't have any speakers whatsoever (except for the built-ins of my laptop :) )

What I need is something that handles well low end with much distortion, without extreme power, since I do have neighbors and I don't play in a band (perhaps around 100W would do).

So...for the speakers, the con is the excessive power which usually comes with 12" or 15" speakers (needed for good low ends) and for the monitors, the con is related to the non-treated environment in my room (I don't plan on doing any acoustical treatment, I have a normal, usual room...) and I'm afraid that studio monitors are bad in non-treated rooms.

However, my technical knowledge is limited, so feel free to argue against anything I said.

So I kindly ask you to give advice and arguments either for the speaker(s) option or for the monitors.

Thanks a lot,
Adrian

^just messing around...but seriously, get a poweramp and a Mesa 2X12 cab. It will not let you down.:Smokin:
...get something else for the playback.

^just messing around...but seriously, get a poweramp and a Mesa 2X12 cab. It will not let you down.:Smokin:
...get something else for the playback.

Funny... I'm sure it won't let down BUT... I forgot to mention my budget... $400 MAX, so...

So you want studio monitors, not a guitar amp/cab correct? I'd search the for studio monitors then. I promise you don't want (and can't afford) monitors with a 12" or 15".