Strings

Sep 16, 2004
www.whereshewept.com
i wanted some opinions since there's alot of guitarists here.

I've played Ernie Balls since i started playing. I've tried all the other major brands and have never liked another set. but recently i joined a new band who plays in dropped-B so i thru a set of GHS boomers on (the ZW set with the 70 guage low string) becasue live i hit the strings very hard and needed the tension to stay in tune. i liked them for a bit but after a month or so i started to hate my tone. the strings still felt good so i didn't suspect them. Then i slapped a set of EB Not Even Slinkys on friday and played a show saturday, and suddenly the tone i love was back. so realised that that has never happened with the EB's, they always sound good and i never change them till i break a string. From the moment i slap a fresh set of EB's on my guitars i've never ever felt they went dull.

Just thought i'd share that here and ask for other people's opinions on strings and why they like or hate a certain brand.

I remember using Ernie Balls for awhile, and they really didn't do it for me sound-wise; same with GHS Boomers, so my favorite for the past few years has been D'addarios. More importantly, though, as a general principal, I HATE HATE HATE those light top/heavy bottom sets (like the ZW one, for example), cuz a 10 guage high-E string tuned to C is so slack my initial hit knocks it sharp before it settles into pitch, and they just sound really brittle because of their looseness. So for me, I use standard sets that get progressively and equally thicker depending on my tuning - 10-46 for E standard, 11-49 for D standard, 12-54 for C standard, and if I were ever to play in B, then 13-56.