Studio One DI Guitar Recordings come up Flat

Sandor40

Sandor40
Jul 23, 2014
San Diego
Hi,
Im a guitarist/songwriter who's fairly new to recording direct input guitars. My gear is a Carvin DC127 w/ a Dimebucker in the bridge or Carvin V w/ stock pickups, Line 6 UX2 interface and Studio One DAW.

My goal is to dial in a tight, chunky, heavy, tone. I see all these videos of people getting great tones online with no post processing, using what appear to be the same applications as me, however I am coming up flat. I have tried Pod Farm(sounds good thru phone, but flat after recorded), Le Pou(nothing like I hear on the youtube video of those applications) w/ various impulse responses, ReCabinet, and Ampire Metal pack(ok tone but not enough drive to smooth it out) and nothing seems to sound too great. I have dialed tones in Pod farm that sound good to the ear, but come up sounding flat after recording. By flat I mean, not punchy, in your face aggression that is demanded of a great metal tone, just sound kind of muted when played back in Studio One.

Has anyone out there had similar experiences recording di guitars in Studio One and how did you over come them? What do I need to look at, given the information provided that I have overlooked? If anyone could shed some light, offer any tips, tricks or suggestions I really appreciate it! And I know, the tone in your fingers as well, so that's already being considered in advance:headbang:
Thank you!

Can you post a clip of a track?

I always struggle a bit to get the "right" guitar tone in my mixes. I think I have something pretty decent, then I'll post it here and people say my tone is harsh.

Are you double tracking? did you try high passing? adding a tiny reverb can also add space to the sound, which is usually very dry with ampsims.

bryan_kilco: ya I hear ya, ok I'll post an example soon.

Novocaine:
Ya I dual track one hard right, one hard left.