Thanks Mikael for all the great influences!

Demoke said:
Coming back to the beginning of this thread, I'd like to thank not only Mike but also NineFeetUnderground. Many bands I've checked after his recommendations and I happen to like almost all of them. So, cheers, guy!

Yea I agree, I got into Anglagard and Caravan because of him (plus a few other bands).

I got into opeth from listening to bloodbaths NMF, so im still pretty new to opeth. But from listening to opeth has made me more picky to what music i listen to, i wont buy an album unless i fall in love with it.

Opeth touches melodic death metal for the growl and the heavy sound and prog for the polyedrich structures, the concepts and the innovative and artistic innovation.

death metal, the hard & raw one, must be understood. In this sense, there are some great bands like Morbid Angel, first Entombed, Obituary etc. for the melodic scene Hypocrisy, Edge Of Sanity, last At The Gates etc. :)

the only one band that is exempt from any criticism is Death from 1993 to 1998 (and the. Chuck Schuldiner is the best metal guitarist of all times, great music, wonderful solos, very high-rate lyrics and a unique style (nobody can play like he did). And he wrote all music and lyrics.
There is also Dark Tranquillity, if you consider this band a death metal band (but some people say not because they're too melodic, experimental, elegant and out of the death metal concepts).

let the metal flow, and support music not rumors ;)

for the man who asked about a band similar to Opeth to listen: Novembre. This Italian band started at the same time/a little before Opeth and we can say that they influenced each other. Novembre is a bit more gothic in the style howewer.

Woods of Ypres is miserable, like a third rate Opeth. They don't come close to Opeth on the following:

Musicianship - All aspects
Songwriting - All aspects
Vocals - All aspects