Mikael Alerfeldt in the G3 ...??!

A. Iverson

deceased
Jul 17, 2005
Bahrain
I have been listening to Opeth since 1998. I was recently introduced to the G3 by my friend; and i was unimpressed. These guys go mainly for speed,, most of their music lacks beauty. On the other hand, Mikael and Peter may not be so fast (although they have some really ripping kickass solos), yet their music is beautiful beyond anything by the G3; those so-called "best guitarists in the world". So i just wondering,, who nominates these guys? How come they are chosen year after year as the best 3 guitarists on this planet..? Do Mikael and Peter have any chance of performing in the g3, even if only as guests of honour ...???

the sentiment of the post is correct and true, i agree. Unfortunately though i don't think peter or ackey will get to the G3 because they are in a band. All the guitarists (i know) that are in it are solo ones. :(

it will never happen, and it shouldn't. i watched a dvd....to me, it seems like its more of a showcase of speed and egos. the music doesn't seem to be the focus. the guitar lead guitar level is through the roof...its like the other musicians aren't even there.

^true, and malmsteen's there so you dont want to look at him for too long, plays well but DORK ALERT