The fiend needs a new bass!

Thrash fiend

Apr 21, 2005
Yo guys, ive been playing bass for about 4 years now and have started saving for a new one. I'm planning on spending about £800, (im guessing thats about $1300 americam but i could be wrong). I use my fingers and play in a thrash metal band and just want a really good chunky sound,I was gonna try and get hold of a fender precision bass like frankies' but im not too sure as i think theyre way to exepnsive(although i saw the spitting image of it in edinburgh for about £700). anyone got any reccomendations?

Any help would be appreciated,
Thrash fiend

Don't get a Fender bass just because Frank Bello plays one. If you play in a thrash metal band you need an ESP or Ibanez bass. Both companies make fine bass guitars that everyone can afford. There is nothing "metal" about a Fender Precision bass despite some of the pro players in some metal bands playing them. The pros like Bello and Harris are old now and they need to keep things conservative. I am guessing you are young and being in a thrash metal band you simply need to play a bass which harmonizes more with your age, image and sound.

I don't have any specific models to recommend you (I am a guitar player, not a bass player), but I suggest you browse around on the ESP and Ibanez site to see what they have to offer:

http://www.espguitars.com

http://www.ibanez.com

I have 2 esp viper 254's.
The sound is good, they play great and are all around a good bang for the buck. You may also want to check out spector, that have korean made ones that play and sound awesome for the cash.

it's a yorkiville 400 watt head with a yorkville 1x15 and hartke 4x10

I also use a dbx compressor and bbe sonic maximizer.