"The Weakest Link" thread

JayKeeley

Be still, O wand'rer!
Apr 26, 2002
www.royalcarnage.com
Can you think of a band where if it wasn't for one particular band member, you would rank them so much higher?

Yesterday, for reasons unknown, I took a Dream Theater CD off my shelf. It was "Scenes of a Memory". This is the ONLY DT CD I own so I'm no expert on the band, but I must say, the music is awesome. It actually made me want to listen to some Queensryche. Besides, there's no doubting the Jon Pettruci and Portnoy combination here and they seem to refrain from usual prog-wankery (at least on this disc).

But my good goat, James Labrie should absolutely have been clubbed at birth. I cannot believe this guy gets a free pass. He IS the weakest link.

will think so some less obvious ones ... but Lars for the last decade and .5

But my good goat, James Labrie should absolutely have been clubbed at birth. I cannot believe this guy gets a free pass. He IS the weakest link.

From a similar discussion in GMD:

LaBrie is indeed the perfect singer for D.T., i accept the fact that he is weak when performing live (he can't hit a high pitched note to save his life), at least he was like that even in 1998 when i first saw them live, but he has made some outstanding pieces of singing in the albums. His performances are totally attached to the songs, like them or not, some of them even make the songs and increase their quality. Noone could think any other singer in his place. For anyone who declares that he sucks and he is unworthy and bla bla bla i have three words to say: Space Dye Vest (and three bonus words : One Last Time).

Since you mentioned "Scenes..." i would add "The Spirit Carries On" to the other 2 songs.

Can't think of anyone on the thread subject, but i will....SOON.

i don't think LaBrie is the weakest link ... i think the rest of the band is ... everyone was amazing on IAW ... but then they went off into cacophony land