To those of you that play an instrument...

Daybreaker

Red, Hot, and Heavy
Jul 6, 2002
San Antonio, TX
Visit site
How did you go about starting off? Like when you started learning songs, how did you progress? I'm curious because I just started learning some Priest stuff, Breaking The Law and Grinder. Stupid simple yes, but I know my limitations at this stage. Were there ever certain pieces or solos that you said "By gory, I WILL be able to play that someday"? If I can play the solos to Beyond The Realms Of Death, I think I might be satisfied with myself.

best tip i can give is fuck limitations.
if you start hindering your aggresiveness, or tone down your hard work, you wont get there with as much perfection and speed- maybe not at all.
something may sound like shit, and it may be above your level...but, within reason, dont put it on the back burner because of that.

practice the stuff you are worst at, always practice the right things when you are in practice mode. alot of people start off practicing and then in 5 mins they are just doodling. the best way to progress is just find the areas you need improving on the most and work on those first.

i like www.wholenote.com

i dont know what level you are at but these are the best free guitar lessons on the net IMO >>> http://chrisjuergensen.com.hosting.domaindirect.com/lessons.htm

I started with lessons, decided I hated it, switched teachers, learned some valuable number and pattern theory, and taught the rest myself... I don't learn other bands' songs. I'm very much of an improviser and a jam guitarist.

Music theory I had with me from my 7 years of strict piano lessons.