Does playing an instrument change the way you listen to music?

JayKeeley

Be still, O wand'rer!
Apr 26, 2002
www.royalcarnage.com
Just curious, but I've been playing the guitar for about 15 years now (never really seriously though) and when I truly focus on listening to music, I can't help but dissect all the instruments into their different tracks. I guess I almost transcribe it in my head. I think this stems from learning how to play by ear, and forcing myself to pick out the guitar tracks from the rest of the music...

Anyway, if you play an instrument, do you automatically do the same? What if you don't play anything - do your ears pick out the details?

I started playing instruments when I was 8 so it's hard to tell if I listen to music differently as a musician, but I'm almost positive there is a distinction just by talking with my musician v. non-musician friends.

Some years ago I actually had to stop myself from dissecting parts all the time because I got too involved trying to focus on one instrument rather than enjoy the work as a whole. That's never a problem anymore though.

NAD said:
Some years ago I actually had to stop myself from dissecting parts all the time because I got too involved trying to focus on one instrument rather than enjoy the work as a whole. That's never a problem anymore though.
Good point. I found that after I had transcribed a song by ear, I started liking the song a little less. I stopped doing that, unless I wanted to learn a particular riff or lick within the song. Otherwise, after transcription, it took months before my ears detuned themselves from just listening to the guitar track.

I can't even remember last time I learned a riff/lick/whatever off a CD, I think at this point I appreciate music more for how it sounds than how it's played. Well almost, because I generally hate talentless hacks in any artform. :Spin: