Triple XXX settings

Jan 11, 2006
The 'Lou
This is my first ever post. I've been watching this forum for a couple weeks now and have picked up some pretty great tips. I was just wondering if anyone would have any suggestions of settings for my Triple XXX. I'm new to recording and just finding out that live sound is Waaaaaaaaaaaaaay different than recorded sound. Thanks in advance.

Gibson SG w/EMG 85/81(85 in bridge) - GE-7 - NS-2 - Triple XXX 212 combo - audix i5 - M-Audio Fast track - Guitar Tracks Pro:headbang: :headbang:

Bass Mid and Treble to 6
"6 6 6"

Gain to 10, and anything else turn all the way down. The Master should be adjusted to the room, but 1-2 usually is the best. Should slay anything else you've ever played, for sure. Take out the NS-2, it's a tone killer, you don't want to kill the tone being pumped out this beast, do you? On the GE-7 try to boost all the lows and all the highs, and cut all of the mids. Please record this tone for us to drool over. You're welcome.

~006

006 said:
Bass Mid and Treble to 6
"6 6 6"

Gain to 10, and anything else turn all the way down.
~006

Won't having the gain that high with the mids scooped make the tone muddy?
I use the GE-7 in front of the amp for a clean boost. Kind of like how the Tubescreamer is used. Right now I have Bass set to about 11'oclock, the mids at 8'oclock and the treble at about 10'oclock. I do have an MXR 10 band to stick in the loop. Is that where you were suggesting to boost the lows and highs? I do have one very very amature clip but not shure how to upload it. Any suggestions? o_O

I was kidding. Sorry, I'm kind of in a bad mood because my PC died AGAIN this morning, meanwhile my Macs that take a ton of abuse are still running like champs..