virtual reamping with amplitube metal

mr shikadance

New Metal Member
Dec 13, 2009
hey guys.
long time reader, first time poster.
have recently purchased a 003 rack + bundled with protools 8 LE.
been having lots of fun with amplitube metal.
i finally made a good 5150ish metal sound and decided to record it to a mono track. so that was all good.
so i then decided to make a new track, paste the wav from the first track to the 2nd track, insert the amplitube plugin and mess around with other amp and cab settings.
but it didnt work ( no signal coming through the 2nd track, 1st track muted but signal was coming through)

ideally, i would like to do one clean, dry signal track and then make about 5 copies on 5 tracks and then use the amplitube plugin one each of them and blend amps/setting/fx etc. so eg. one track would be a mesa, another a marshall etc.

now i was wondering if any could help me with how to do it. im a total noob, so things like routing to aux send/bus/ blah bah are a bit over my head so if anyone could explain that would be really helpful!

thanks heaps guys,

I would just arm track>record di'ed sound>copy five times to five tracks>Apply amplitube to every track individually and bounce down everytime.

Should work?
Im sure there is a much more efficeint way of doing it, but thats how i'd go about it.

Hope it helped you out bro!

ok im no pro tools nerd but sounds to me like your having a routing problem. have you checked that all your channels are set to output to the same source? ie: your soundcard's output?

also are you sure you haven't got any tracks muted or solo'd because this could effect the way they play back. a screen shot of your channels would help quite a bit