Vocalist here. Help me! Expecially programmers who make vst-amps! Couple questions.

BugsyHewitt

Apr 10, 2010
Hey guys this is my first post. I've been observing the ultimate metal forums for quite a while now.. Some of you guys are gods and I just can't thank all of you enough.. All the free software amps that have been coming out.. HOLY S@%!!!!! Ive been playing guitar for 16 years now. I play in a band that has 6505+ and a 5150 on rythym and the sound you get from these free software amps is so ridiculously close... 8505, that 5150 sounding one are like Deja-Vu. and without a doubt that v30 thing.. That thing is my go-to for chuggy rythym tracks, only question is which impulse.. I dl'd one from somewhere around here.. Really similar to my lead players 4x12 Mesa (1600$) sound but a bit less throaty which I prefer (Less eq = less headaches) (also free).. :lol:

I honestly run my line 6 pod xt live (500 bucks when I bought it) into my computer in complete bypass mode and use the software I found on this site (free.. :headbang: ) Also just the information in the stickys made my band sound better over the course of a week.. I really appreciate your guys effort.

Anyway. More to the point. Ive been a vocalist for 6-7 years, and I was lucky enough about 4-5 years ago to stumble upon a Urel LA-4 (sexy black death box) and I went thru a differant couple mic preamps thru the years.. Turns out I kinda like cheaper ones. I dont completely squish my vox or distort them.. Just a lil drive, little cut.. In love with that sound.. Its been my sound.. Plus makes the highs in pigsqeels screeee-eee-eee-eam..

So my LA-4 got jacked.. Its gone.. and I have alot of things to spend 700+ dollars on before a new one.. Is there any software compressor/limiters that are similar.. I miss my sound.. dbx is poop. Also any pro tips on mic pres/compressors/anything whatsoever = :worship: