Vortex

Det Som Engang Var

Viking Bastard
Jun 3, 2005
Houston, TX
Hi I'm kinda new to Borknagar. I read somewhere that the reason Vortex left the band was so he could focus on Dimmu Borgir, and said something like "If not for Dimmu I'd still be in Borknagar today" but didnt he join Arcturus after he left Borknagar and joined Dimmu?

The period of time between when he left Borknagar to when he joined Arcturus was a few years. It could be that personal situations at the time were placing too much of a demand for two bands, and now he's able to comit. Or it could be something different altogether.

Vortex was in Borknagar at a time when the band still toured extensively, which was a major commitment. Dimmu Borgir was the same case if not more so. A commitment to Arcturus would be much less as that band does not tour extensively and is composed mainly of musicians who have other major bands, therefore the band does not meet often to tour or compose material.

Vortex's work with Dimmu Borgir is superb, but I would give it all up to keep him as Borknagar's vocalist. I still have dreams of his return, at least for a tour.

Vortex was in Borknagar at a time when the band still toured extensively, which was a major commitment. Dimmu Borgir was the same case if not more so. A commitment to Arcturus would be much less as that band does not tour extensively and is composed mainly of musicians who have other major bands, therefore the band does not meet often to tour or compose material.

Vortex's work with Dimmu Borgir is superb, but I would give it all up to keep him as Borknagar's vocalist. I still have dreams of his return, at least for a tour.

well, the only members who have more important bands are vortex himself and possibly hellhammer (although he said that mayhem, winds and arcturus were all his main bands). Sverd doesnt have anything else, tore has a band but it is secondary to arcturus, knut just has the studio but no more important band and im clueless bout skull.