Waves Update Plan?!?!

bryan_kilco

Nov 22, 2007
Poconos, PA
Da fuq is this?! I got an email saying my plan is going to expire and I have to pay $62.70 for a "Waves Update Plan Extension" for 3 fucking plugins that I own.

Am I missing something here? I have to pay more $ to keep using the plugins that I legitimately bought?!?

(I'm pretty new to Waves but I got the free One-Knob Louder as well as C4 and L1 when they were on sale.....)

Ok, maybe I jumped the gun there. I guess this is just to keep getting update notifications and such for plugins you already own?

My bad if this is crazy, but the email I got, as well as Waves site, was not very clear in explaining exactly what this is.

You can use the plugins forever, it's just that you only get one year of free updates. It's an unpopular policy but in practice I've owned waves plugins for 5 years and have never paid for a WUP. I'll probably end up doing it when I go to PT 11 but until then there isn't much incentive. So basically you pay when there is a major upgrade you need, same as other software.

Yeah, I got the email last week too, I think it's an excellent way to sour customer relations.

All I can think is that they must be bleeding cash and losing massive market share given that every VST plugin has either a cheaper (eg Hornet Volume vs vocal / bass rider) or better implemented alternative (e.g. Slate VCC vs NLS).

I've bought the Waves SSL and CLA compressors in 2009 (Waves V7) or so and never updated them or paid a WUP fee since then.
The next time (and first time for me) to pay for WUP will be when I will step up to Pro Tools 11 and AAX64. If I don't go to PT11, I'll probably stay on my ancient versions for some more time.

To sum up:
Yes, you have to pay for updates, but usually you don't need to, unless major technology changes occur (like 64 bit or AAX).