What kind of gear does Saxon use?

Redman

Broken Villain
Dec 29, 2005
Finland
Well, every band forum usually has this kind of thread.

As a guitarist, I'm of course interested in the gear Saxon uses. I think in the early years Paul and Graham had JMP 2203 Marshall amplifiers and in the 80's, they got JCM 800 2203s though they still used JMPs pretty much. Later, in the late 80's, they used Laney Pro Tubes, but what about after that?

I was wondering what kind amplification they had in Dogs of War, Metalhead and nowadays. I think they now use JCM 2000, Laney VH100R and also some sort of rack and I think I saw ENGL in Chronicles DVD, but if they really use those amps... I can't be sure.

I, myself, have JCM 800 2210 and was wondering if any distortion pedal could make it sound like Saxon sounds today or in albums like Metalhead or Killing Ground.

Hopefully we have some guitarists here :loco:

They still use VH100R i think :) as they're sponsored and listed on laney's website: http://www.laney.co.uk/site.htm

I've seen Paul play a Flame guitar, and Dough an LP. But they seem to use the van halen guitar (that type peavey made, but custom by another brand) more often. various strats (paul has a jackson..? and a fender lefty played right handed on Chronicles) are also preferred :heh:

don't have a clue about the pedals, you have to ask them!

edit: paul uses washburn too, here's a pic of the UTB guitar: http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e48/chunkypoops/paul1.jpg he also used a washburn guitar on the "rock the nations" video, dont remember the name of it, but here it is (all i could find on google, [http://www.guitareelectrique.com/images/washburn_hm_5v.jpg paul had a similar colour and specs i think

Hmm, I always thought Washburn only made vintage guitars, hehe :lol:

It's hard to find any information concerning their gear.

But they seem to use the van halen guitar (that type peavey made, but custom by another brand)