What the guitar companies don't want you to know (video)

Plendakor

Oct 30, 2010
Hey I thought some of you guys might find this video interesting, VLOG from a guitar maker (he's got other videos).

Last edited by a moderator:
I've seen his videos and while I still don't know if the physics explained there are accurate, it's right that it's on the best interest of the manufacturers to offer different woods and make a huge deal about it. Notice how fender, chapman, and others "proof" in tonewoods are zero cientific and none if them show you the difference in tone when distorted. I'm noy saying tonewoods don't exist, but I don't know what to believe. I'd had tons of different guitars with different woods here at my studio project and while they all have differences in like output, I can make them sound extremely similar with settings tweaking as long as they have pickups of similar tonality and output for example emg 81 vs sd distortions. I'm a high gain guy so I've no experience with mid to low gain tones though.

I posted this a while ago:
http://www.ultimatemetal.com/forum/bar/962734-interesting-article-guitar-wood.html
This guy comes off as sort of bitter and desperate to make a conspiracy. Of course tone woods are chosen on price, workability and appearance in addition to tone. Is that not obvious?

His assertion about there being no new guitar tech since the 50's is just patently false. People just love (buy) the classics. Off the top of my head we have carbon fiber necks, active electronics, fanned frets, headless guitars, piezos, modeling guitars and automatic tuners.