Where to Begin?

Jul 18, 2012
Hello everyone! I am really new to the world of producing and mixing. and by really new I mean I don't really know anything... but! I am really adamant to begin learning!

I was just wondering how everyone began. I really want to begin working on mixing but I wanted to learn a lot before buying a bunch of equipment and so I bought Bobby Oswinski's Mixing Engineering Handbook (It hasn't came in yet, so I haven't began reading it) I don't really know where to begin because since there is so much to learn it's really overwhelming. I wanted to download some raw mixes and play around with them to learn stuff but whenever I mess with VSTs and stuff I have no idea what all the knobs and terms mean. I play synth a little and used to play bass (neither of which am I really good at) but I know a little about music terms but when I go to mix something a little bit I get so confused. I have no idea the properties and parameters of Reverb, Compressors and EQ or any essintials to mixing.

Please don't mistake this for me wanting any handouts or anything I was just wanting to know if I could get some pointers to where I should start or how to grasp how to use things and learn the parameters and things.

P.S. I spend a lot of time on the forums and on the internet reading up but with out the basic knowledge of how to use different knobs and the parameters and what they do/mean in mixes I cant learn much. If that makes since?

Thank You for any insight or tips anyone can give me it will be much appreciated! :)

Start recording with whatever knowledge/gear you have. If you wait until you're "ready" to start recording bands, you'll never start. Learn from your mistakes, read as much as you can and find someone in town who's further along the path than you are to help mentor you. Never stop learning.