Why is finding vocals for a project so ridiculously hard?

Soundlurker

Nov 19, 2005
Write a song in a day or two.
Record it in a couple of a hours.
Spend 6 long months looking for someone to write lyrics and record vocals :err:

Now it almost feels hard to believe I managed to finish my solo EP, which you can download for free, if you like http://www.facebook.com/BuriedByIgnorance

Do you guys have any tips for that? It seems most of them are put off by the fact that they need to come up with lyrics. I'd write my own but I'm not really good at this nor do I enjoy writing. I have 5-6 more songs just waiting for vocals and it's taking forever.

Because the vocals are the most important part of 90% of bands. They make or break a project.

That said, I'd avoid a vocalist who didn't want to write his own vocals like the plague. Unless you're playing tech-death and you just need rhythmic growls to complete it, a vocalist needs to be behind what he's singing for me to be interested.

You make a very good point Jeff. Yes it is very difficult to find the right singer i hear ya man, but like Jeff said hang on and try to find one that will write his own stuff.

maybe because in 99% of modern music the instruments should be backing the vocals and not the other way around?

any riff you play has probably been done before one way or another but true musicality relies on the feeling you're trying to create...
that's the BIG difference that separates unknown acts/99% of modern metal and incredible musicians such as Muse, Linkin Park, Pearl Jam, Pantera and every other artist that got to where he is/was for a good fucking reason.

yup.

unless you are retarted, with some work you can get decent at guitar/bass/drums/whatever... with vocals that's not always the case

i've put some work into learning to sing and it's faaaar from anything cool sounding, I guess you have to be kinda born with it