You who live in Sweden: musical education

Gawen

Night! You beautiful
Jan 11, 2006
Milan, Italy
www.myspace.com
I’m studying at University that up there in Sweden musical education is almost free and bands are financed by Government. Is that true?
Here in Italy it’s a shame, we got vast musical background, lot of best composers ever but study music is very expansive and the worst is that our politicians (whatever their ideas may be) don’t give a f..k about it. :mad:
I also read somewhere that in all Scandinavian Countries, as well as in South America, musicians are well considered and respected while in Italy people consider us slackers (and also criminals, especially we who play metal) and music it’s seen as a waste of time. :mad: :mad: :mad:
I would like to know what about the rest of the world.

Where’s Music there you can find a pure heart!

In Sweden, there's free musical education in grammar school, same as in many other countries I think. All university studies are free (except you still have to pay for food and appartment in one way or another). So if you want, you can study musical subjects at a university, but you'd probably have to take loans to finance your studies.

But the government doesn't finance bands, maybe you can get "contribution" money (the government love making people dependant on their alms) at most. And I don't think they should get any money either.

I don't really know about the respect thing either. Unless you're really successful, I don't think most people consider being a musician "real work".

I wish America cared more about its educational system....music is the biggest joke for us, just take a look at our "trends" :erk:

I guess that is what happens when your government begins to worry more about its business allies compared to the families that are homeless and can barely afford to make ends meat.

Seraphim Belial said: