Your opinion on EL34's in a Dual Rectifier

Dylan S

Celephai
Feb 27, 2009
Australia
Hi guys,

I bought my Dual Recto used and haven't been able to afford new tubes yet, and I know it's always a good idea to put new tubes in an amp when you buys used.

Anyway I'll be getting some money soon, and I was wondering if anyone had any experience (good or bad) with EL34's in a Dual Rectifier. I've always wanted to try it, and the fixed bias does make things very easy for me if I want to do it, but I am not sure I want to go and do it without having an idea of what it will be like first, because even though tubes aren't INCREDIBLY expensive, I am a poor uni students and it will suck big time if I do it and it sounds horrible and I can't afford more tubes for a while.

So experience?

I might give that a go after this thread dies.

I guess I should also add, I do like a nice well rounded tone (think DHIADW) but I am a death metal musician and go for a very aggressive and pronounced, full type of sound.

I love the tones Behemoth and Cannibal Corpse get with their Rectos, but I know Devin Townsend has EL34's in hi Recto and I love his tone too, and I'm all for experimenting.

Most people seem to run 6L6's, and I suppose that's really what the amp was designed for. But I like both. The EL34's give just a bit more upper mids to the tone, and generally, slightly less bass. 6L6's make the sound a bit more scooped with a fat bottom end. They are just a slightly different flavor in terms of tone. It really depends what sound you're after.

Yeh, I'm definitely aware of the different sounds that both tubes offer.
I absolutely love the huge chunky sound I get out of my amp, and the low mids are a great thing for the really full thick sound I need, and although I know the EL34 will tighten it up a little and give it more of a bitey sound, what I'm more interested in knowing is whether or not having the EL34's will take away a lot of what we know/love about REctos with 6l6's in them.