A song from my solo project

Erik said:
Another thing though. You could have drawn this out a whole lot longer without it turning boring. I mean, while the individual parts are good the metal stuff doesn't really get enough time to develop before it goes back into the acoustic bits, you basically have 7-8 minutes of material here if you arrange it a bit differently I'd say.
Ya, especially that opening riffing after the intro on Hym of The Wood. :headbang:

This thread has given me a lot of esteem and makes me think that this little 20 minute tape is worth taking seriously... this month I will work with the songs and re-record them. First things first though... fuck this drum machine.

edit - perhaps I should stop recording with this 15 watt crate amp and bring in my 160 watt 2 12'' fender stage pro...

As you already pointed out the vocals and drums need improvement. I'm not very good at reviewing music but I will try to give some constructive critismism:

RHiI: The riffs in that acoustic break feel a bit chopped up, I would prefer a greater "flow" so to speak, and has been said already it would benefit from greater length. OK all in all.

HotW: A lot more interesting song structure and good riffs; gives me a sort of Agalloch feel which can never be a negative thing. I've no suggestions in what way to change it but that incessant cymbal crash gets in the way of the rest of the song I think. A good song which could become really good with some tinkering.

Thanks to both of you, and Spaffe, it is always excellent to hear opinions on how to improve stuff. I've decided on THIS course of action-

I'm going to set up my Fender amp for recording instead of the Crate... the sound should be much better. I'll be working on my vocals, and as for the drum sound, I'll be using a digital drumset or a better programming system (if I cant pull off the real drums). Mike... Im still interested in hearing why you dont like Digital sets.