...And Justice For All

tedvanfrehley

Your Favorite Uncle
May 28, 2003
the bluegrass state
Visit site
I dug this out to listen to today and I had forgotten what a classic metal album this one was. Then it hit me, the similarities between JUSTICE and the recent release that we all KNOW (even if we don't LOVE...), ST ANGER. I have a point here. After much thought (I work in sales, and you have a lot of time to think when you drive 200 miles a day) I have come to realize just how closely these two albums relate. First, the dreaded DRUM SOUND. Remember when you first put on Justice and thought, "What the fuck is Lars doing???? That sounds like utter shit." Or at least I did. Then, the songs were heavy and riffy but not at all like something off of Master or anything before. Then, the dreaded ONE video came out and many fans cried sellout. Fast forward to 2003. People who hadn't completely written off the mighty Metallica picked up ST ANGER and again said, "WHAT THE FUCK IS UP WITH THE DRUMS?!?!?!?" The songs are longer, but again with a completely different feel. And the same people that were crying sellout are still bitching and moaning louder than ever because this album didn't sound like KILL EM ALL. Well, as a lyric in Justice states, "moving back instead of forward seems to me absurd". I am giving new props to Metallica on behalf of their finding a happy medium with St Anger. On one hand, it is more brutal and nothing near LOAD territory, but to have gone back and remade KILL EM ALL would have just been to try nothing new.