Soul of Ice

Rusted Angel
Jul 29, 2002
Yonkers
Visit site
Im new to this kind of board, and im having trouble getting an avatar. How do you do it? Just find a site with a picture that gives it its own window and put that site for the avatar url?

After saying that any good sites that have some cool album art that can be used as an avatar?

Originally posted by Collapse Generation
Funny, I thought avatar's were disabled...

They're no longer available on the UM server..you have to provide your own now, either on your own webspace or somewhere outside UM.

But I can't proceed to link to my own hosted avatar, when I
click "Change Avatar" in my edit options panel, I just get
a message which says "The administrator has disabled the use
of avatars".

So what's up with this? Anyone care to help me out?

Hmmm, could it be you're getting the old "edit options" page?

Maybe if you go to the "profile" link at the top, and then hold ctrl and click "refresh". Dunno, maybe that might help. 'Cause you should now find a space where you put the URL for your image, rather than the field for uploading one to UM's folder.

Originally posted by Collapse Generation
But I can't proceed to link to my own hosted avatar, when I
click "Change Avatar" in my edit options panel, I just get
a message which says "The administrator has disabled the use
of avatars".

So what's up with this? Anyone care to help me out?

--
New Avatar System! by Mark (July 26th, 2002 until August 26th, 2002)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
As promised, avatars are back on a 'You Host It' basis.

If you go to your Edit Profile page, at the bottom you will see a new avatar field. Here you need to put the URL of your hosted avatar.