BLACK BLACK BLACK SOPA discussion

MetalAges

Purveyor of the Unique & Distinct
Staff member
Sep 30, 2001
Virginia, USA
www.ultimatemetal.com
As many may know a ton of sites today have "gone black" in opposition of the SOPA/PIPA bill that's currently circulating in Congress (I will provide a link at the bottom if you are not aware of the specifics of what these bills mean, but please read all of this announcement).

How does this affect Ultimate Metal? Let me count the ways...

I've been running the site since 2004 when I purchased the site from my pal Mark (who had started it in 2001). I can't tell you the countless amount of times I am dealing with "admin" stuff that noone hears about, and never will -- complaints, threats of legal action, whining, finger pointing, DMCA take down notices, Google warnings, ads being shut off (our main revenue stream that keeps the site going). The list goes on.

I handle all these things on behalf of the site, and the users who visit. I love Metal, I love supporting the scene in my little way. I'm a fair person, if something deserves action, I take it. If someone is out of line, I kindly tell them why. If a DMCA complaint comes through, I deal with the hassle of the process and dispute (since we support artists and do not allow illegal downloading here etc.). Heck I'm dealing with an issue just today that even though what is on my site is 99% probably the real deal and "outs" a con man in the industry - I have to think of the money I could lose personally, what would happen with the site, the time involved in fighting this legal threat etc.