Books!

Reanna

Technicolor Orgasm
Nov 3, 2002
Finleyville, PA
soulsimmortalwings.cjb.net
I already have a massive collection of books that I have not read yet, but I like buying books anyway. What are you guys currently reading (if anything) and do you reccomend any books that I should buy when I go out next?

I'm currently reading Ada, or Ardor by Nabokov and it's pretty nuts. Before that I read an awesome book by Azar Nafisi called reading Lolita in Tehran. A GREAT book. I've drank with her son too so that was fun.

BTW I went crazy over Nabokov this summer and read eight of his books.. you can't go wrong with him but I don't recommend South of the Border, West of the Sun first.

Peace.

Brandon

As a librarian, I spend my public time reading Kerouac to impress the nubile green haired ladies and my private with the works of Jesse Ventura, Mick Foley, and Chyna.

i had a big Nabokov kick in the spring--well worth it, i think, to read at least five or six of his books (Lolita, Pale Fire, The Real Life of Sebastian Knight, Pnin, Speak Memory, and Glory, I guess I'd recommend).

right now I am reading Bernard Lewis' What Went Wrong? and Stephen King's Everything's Eventual. i started James St. James' Party Monster (formerly called something like Disco Bloodbath i think) but I don't think I'll finish it because he's a shitty writer.

ANYTHING by J.G. Ballard. He's one of my faves. His stuff can be pretty varied though. Short story called High Rise - freakin awesome.

I am buying a few books from Amazon right now and I am getting intrigued by Nabokov. I wanted to know if Nabokov was too overwhelming for a poor second language reader like me. And with what should I start?

no, and in fact you might doubly appreciate him because his native language was Russian, yet he wrote some of the best English-language books in the history of humanity.

he wrote one short story, Mademoiselle O, in French, too!