Chug Syncronization With Kick (Quantizing, etc...)

submersed

<B>HTML RULEZ D00D</B>
Sep 29, 2009
www.twitter.com
So after recording guitar to a midi drum track (superior 2.0), it tends to be imperfect. What I'm wondering is, in addition to better playing skills, what can I do to correct the guitar so that it fits the drum track more appropriately, and is more in sync with the tempo? I realize the biggest part of this is playing the section more accurately, however, with pure chug parts, I seem to get extremely close, but not perfectly in line with the kick for example.

I apologize if this has been asked before, but both a google search, and a search on this site didn't lead me to what I was looking for. Perhaps my searching skills need some work as well.

With that said, what can I do, using Cubase, to properly align chugs with the kick drum, or even re-align individual guitar notes to be near-perfect? I'm a newbie to quantization, so if it involves that process, please explain it as if you were explaining it to someone who didn't really understand the process (if you have time).

I usually cut out the groups of chugs and slip the group so the first chug is on beat. keep in mind that when your looking at the wave forum the first wave or two is just pick attack and not the actual note.

If you find that you need to edit every note in the group because the spacing of each chug inst correct the part hasn't been played tight enough at least in my opinion. when you get into editing every note on time you end up sounding to fake way to quickly. I think most people on here will agree that its a waste of time editing everynote not to mention that it starts sounding goofy pretty quickly, mr. Sturgis said himself that he doesn't do this and he has arguably the tightest sounding recordings on the forum

Get it as close as humanly possible to the kick while tracking, what I do is solo the kick to get it completely in time.