Computer help...

Kool Dude

Dec 17, 2009
Hey! I'm new here, and I'm lookin' forward to bein' apart of the community! :headbang:

So my first post is going to deal with my computer.

I'm not a professional audio engineer or anything, although I would love to go to school for it! But, I have a problem.

For years now, I have been using the GuitarPort to do all my recording. Well, thats fine and all, but when I take all my tracks, apply all the effects, (Compression, EQ, Reverb, etc...) my computer screws up on playback. It doesn't freeze or anything but I get some insane pops, clicks, and what not. It's really annoying because I can't listen to the final mix!

I have most of my stuff stored onto an external harddrive, and I bought the computer from Guitar Center, so it was made for music, no?

I usually have my GuitarPort set as my main Audio Device, but I think Windows Classic Wave Driver managed to play through more of the song before going insane with pops and clicks. I tried everything at various buffer sizes and I'm not sure what to do anymore.

Is it really my computer? I got it early this year, so it's not that old.
Do I need more RAM?
Do I need a new Sound Card?

I've been trying to figure out what to do and I came across Audio Interface's.
I'm not quite sure what they are, really. Are they just like the GuitarPort?
And if so, is it possible for me to use a more professional Audio Interface as my main Audio Device and would that help any?

*Sigh*
It sucks recording a song and the only way to hear it is to export it as an mp3there's got to be something I can do right?

My computer:
Dell Inspiron 531
Vista Home premium 32-bit
AMD Athlon 64x2 Dual Core Processor 5000 + (2CPU's), ~2.6GHz
2046MB RAM

I'm also using Acid Pro 7 for the mixing.

I'm lookin' forward to hearin' your guys' advice! I really need some help, this is very irratating! :cry:

THANKS! :)

first things first have you tried a driver update? if not then do one now!