Do Baritone Strings always sound a bit dull/dark?

jackbraglia

Jul 27, 2010
Brooklyn, NY
www.vitalmastering.com
I had no idea what sub-forum to put this in, so I just stuck it here.

But anyway, I tune low, G#, and typically I just buy a 7 string set and only use the 6. But this time around I decided to try out some baritone strings for the first time (all they had were D'Addario Nickel wound "Baritone Light" strings, heaviest gauge is .062)

I noticed they sound really dark. Do baritone strings typically sound kind of dark? is it because I'm not using them with a baritone guitar? or are these just shitty baritone strings?

any advice would be appreciated since I have zero experience with baritone strings/guitars

Yea the 62 is a big leap man, think of it like a bass guitar string, the phatter the string, the more bass it hauls

Probably just sounds darker because there isn't a layer of fret buzz on top of every note.

The D'Addario strings are good, but you should have probably gotten the Medium Baritone set, 14-68 I think. That's what I use in that tuning.

Probably just sounds darker because there isn't a layer of fret buzz on top of every note.

The D'Addario strings are good, but you should have probably gotten the Medium Baritone set, 14-68 I think. That's what I use in that tuning.

Could you elaborate on that fret buzz theory?? I dont understand exactly what you mean??

Just because that gauge works for you, doesnt mean it will work for some1 else IMHO

Thick strings dampen highs. High tension on any string dampens highs. Add both together and you are in a world of dull guitar strings.