drum track editor

dani

beat defective
Sep 12, 2008
hey guys, was wanting a little bit of input on a project i'm gonna start soon ish.

i'm gonna try making a drum part editor, specifically for drums, to make realistic sounding drums (given you have the samples).

i'm not satisfied with the MIDI/drum editors in cubase. i'm a computer science student, and i'm able to do something more usable (I think :) ). i want to make one with features that are more suited for editing drum tracks, such as:

humanize playing - automatic editing of velocities, and timing accuracy (like a setting "drummer skill" 100% being the perfect drummer, decreasing gives less consistent hits, etc)

more powerful editing tools:
- alternate select ( 2,3 or 4 select infact), picking every other (or every 3rd or 4th) hit.

- select as an undo-able event. ever selected something that was a hassle to select, then accidentally click somewhere, forcing you to do all that hassle again? well, i certainly fucking have at least.

- a better behaved velocity editing tool. at least i think the one in cubase can be a bit erratic at times.

other features:
i plan to have a set of samples from a kit, nothing too hi-fi, just to use a preview, maybe in the future (depending on how much of a pain it is), become an actual VST host, to run any VSTi.

i want some peoples opinions on this, as i think you're the sorts of people that'd be likely to use this tool!

any ideas/suggestions? i'd be glad to hear what you think!

i run on a mac, so anything i do will be as cross platform as i can manage :)

Please let it have basic Yamaha RX or Roland DR series drum machine-style song programming, where the user can step write, say, a verse pattern, number/name it, then specify how many times it occurs within a song,

instead of having to copy, paste, change mind, go back, delete, copy again, paste again, within a piano roll or drum roll or california roll.