Ever feel like quitting music?

iHate

Mar 31, 2009
I've always wanted to play or produce music for a living, but now that I am getting closer to making that happen, I keep feeling like I want out; like I am pathetic for playing music. It used to be so cool to me, and I still really enjoy music when I'm behind a guitar and a mic or a drumkit, but when I'm away from those things I feel like it's just a big waste of time.

Long story short, I was a really smart student, had a lot of great opportunites, but some people close to me blocked a couple of those opportunities pushing me into a downward spiral. I ended up taking none of those opportunities because as smart as I was, I really was really stupid.

Music is what I turn to when I feel like shit, and I get so caught up in it that I forget about "the real world" and live in my own. I get the urge to quit and try to resurrect my previous life of academics. I wouldn't have a cave of music to crawl into when I'm down.

I have quit pretty much everything else in my life, why not music? I really don't know what the hell I want anymore. All I know is, I feel like the biggest piece of shit in the world unless I have a guitar in my hands. And even then, all I am doing is whining about my life. How pathetic...

Do you ever get the urge to just jump ship and take a completely different path in life?

I'm no psychiatraist, but it honestly sounds to me like there are underlying issues that need looked into and dealt with and your declining interest in academics and music are symptoms.
I'm going to +1 what Metal_Overload posted.
Music that makes you feel, comes from your soul. It is a language of its own that can be far more theraputic than spoken word communication.