Fireface 800 - Some questions

chaosmonger

Sep 16, 2006
Santiago, Chile
www.poemaarcanus.cl
Hi Guys!

I have a FF800 and I have a couple questions about it. Have in mind that I'm a noob and I still haven't used it to its full potential (just some bedroom recording).

1.- As far as I know, the 800 has a total of 10 analog inputs; however, everytime someone talks about its features on forums such as this, they speak about 8 x An. ins/ 8 x An. outs. What's the real deal? ... I mean, can I use, let's say, channels 7, 8, 9 & 10 from the front panel (using the built-in mic pres) and channels 1,2,3,4,5 & 6 from the rear panel (of course using external mic pres) to record simultaneously a total of 10 tracks using only the analog inputs?????

I'd like to use as many analog inputs as possible, given that the FF is known for it's good A/D converters (and also due to an ADA8000 being my only alternative as an ADAT 8-mic pre ... I guess both the conversion and pres are not on the same league).

2.- When I connect my FMR RNP into any of the rear inputs of the FF, I have to tweak the gain knob of the preamp VERY low to prevent from clipping on the FF. This happens no matter how I set the input level of the FF. This way I feel like I'm missing something from the preamp, which is set "a little bit too much" below its clipping point.

Any ideas to improve this? (I know I can use the front panel line inputs, which have a gain knob, but the idea is to use the RNP together with the front panel preamps).

feel free to crush any misconceptions I could have, and to laugh at my noob-ness

Thanks in advance!

Igor

You could get another interface, that has lightpipe out, like a mixer or another 8 channel strip of mic pre's like the PreSonus DigiMax FS 8-Channel, or the M-Audio Octane 8-Channel and then feed them into the ADAT Lightpipe input of the Fireface for more inputs.