Gear Talk with Kristian!

BloodLegion

May 21, 2008
Kristian! If you'd spend some minutes perhaps we can discuss gear (I know you're a gear nut!) and perhaps let the fans into some of the hardware you're fond of and use for Demonoid?

Being a guitarist myself I'm always curious, so I hope you can reply and kick things off!

Sure! A guy asked me exactly that on Myspace yesterday so I´ll just paste the answer here:

Gearwise, the first Demonoid record is:
- Ibanez RG540pII guitar with DiMarzio Super3 in bridge, Super2 in the neck.
- Boogie Triaxis preamp
- Boogie 2:90 poweramp
- Marshall cab w/ 75W Celestions for rhythm sound, Marshall cab with 25W Greenbacks for the melodies and solos.
- Boss CS-3 Compressor and Ibanez TubeScreamer for the solos.
- a bunch of cheap effects: Boss VF-1, Digitech XP300, a Vox wah pedal

For the new record I will do some experimenting: I`ll try my Boogie 2:90 poweramp or I´ll maybe a SWR hybrid bass poweramp. Then combine that with either my Marshall JMP-1 preamp or a Yamaha DG-1000 preamp. I´ll run some kind of EQ after that. Then try a shitload of pedals to boost the front end of the preamp a bit.
I have a Randall isocab speakerbox in my apartment, can´t mike up a 4x12 at home, so Im pretty much stuck with that unfortunately but I WILL make it work!! Its got a Celestion V30 speaker, which i really like, so it should be cool.

Also I got a few new guitars and had different pickups mounted in them (Bill Lawrence L-500XL, D Sonic, Steves Special) and I also have my new, awesome Custom Shop super-heavy mahogany Ibanez. Should be fun!

Questions anybody?

(...crickets chirping...)

:)

Thanks for the info, Kristian! It's an honor to be able to get in touch with you here! I've got more Qs if you don't mind (it's better than crickets chirping!)

1. In your natural-finished Ibanez (your current fave, I assume, the one you used live during the Gothic Kabbalah tour and Son Of The Staves Of Time video) has dual EMGs in it, is it an 85/81 combo?